Dear students, I’m in it for you.

Uncle_Sam_(pointing_finger)Last year around this time I wrote a blog post dedicated to my students on how I’m always pulling for them. Pulling for their successes and happiness in life, their education and their relationships. Half way through my third year of teaching, it is no different, but it becomes more clearer to me that I am in it for them. 

Dear students,

I’m in it for you. Days that I feel defeated and think too much about the politics of teaching, and am overall exhausted, I pause and remember I am in it for you. This year has opened my eyes to that is so many ways, more ways than I wish.

I know life isn’t always about getting straight A’s in school, and that sometimes it is straight up a hot mess. The baggage you bring into my classroom is something you can’t always set aside and leave at the door, and usually it is baggage you shouldn’t be carrying at your age in the first place.

I’m in all of this for you though. You bet that I want you to master my social studies class and fall in love with my subject like I am, but guess what? Life isn’t always about that. Life isn’t always easy, but you shouldn’t have to be in it alone.

As your teacher, I promise to always be there for you.

To be your cheerleader. To be a listening ear. To share your celebrations and help in your struggles. To look out for your best interests.

And most importantly to always be by your side so you are not walking alone.

I’m in it for you.

I frequently get asked when I am going to have my own kids (because I’m married so I must have kids..duh), but the truth is I have 130 kids right now…and add onto that an additional 200 from the previous two years. All of you have a piece of my heart, and all are the reason I that I teach.

Next time you are struggling, you have taken on more baggage, life has thrown you a massive curve ball, any of that, know that I am here for you. I’m your cheerleader, your listening ear, by your side when you need it, always looking out for your best interests, and of course your teacher.

Never forget, I’m in it for you.

heart png it all stacks up

Leave a comment